Congratulations to 2022 Awardees for IPE Innovation & Excellence!

Two teams from across U-M health science programs and campuses are recognized for advancing interprofessional education and practice.

University of Michigan’s Awards for IPE Innovation & Excellence were established to recognize and celebrate demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarship, and/or leadership with regard to implementing and/or developing innovative, effective, and sustainable interprofessional education or practice across the U-M sciences schools. This year’s 4th-annual awardees were selected from an unusually large group of strong nominations. Awards were presented to two outstanding teams at the University of Michigan Health Professions Education Day on April 5, 2022. They are:

Collaborative Evolution of Team-Based Decision Making (TBDM):

More than 3200 students from half-dozen health science programs have taken U-M’s hallmark interprofessional education course to date, and it has continued to evolve. The course (originally known as Team-Based Clinical Decision Making) is team-taught by 10 U-M faculty members. Recently, the TBDM faculty found that partnering with faculty teams in the Effective Leadership (IPX-funded) and A3 Problem Solving offerings has been an effective way to provide a permanent home for the learning experiences, and to expand and scale offerings aligned with the Quadruple Aim: the importance of interprofessional teams for improved population health, reducing cost of care, enhancing the patient experience, and improving provider well-being. 

Four Michigan Medicine executives endorsed this nomination, noting: “The work being done by the faculty teams in these IPE offerings aligns well with the mission of our health system… being a highly reliable organization (HRO) where risks for patient harm are reduced by having a culture of safety and continuous improvement.” 

The awardees are: 

-TBDM Team: Gundy Sweet, Mark Fitzgerald, Amy Karpenko, Joe Hornyak, Tom Bishop, Michelle Pardee, Cynthia Arslanian-Engoren, Shawna Kraft, Debbie Mattison, and Anao Zhang.

-A3 Problem Solving Team: Jennifer Vredeveld, Jamie Lindsay, Rosalyn Maben-Feaster, and Carrie Braun.

-Effective Leadership Team: Dana Tschannen, Erin Khang, Paul Walker, and Dan Fischer

Discharge Planning Simulation Team:

In fall of 2021, this faculty team coordinated a virtual IPE hospital discharge planning simulation that included 214 students, 25 facilitators, 10 standardized patients, 5 Zoom moderators, and 2 simulation techs. Students enrolled in nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant, respiratory therapy, and social work programs learned about patient-centered collaboration, teamwork, roles and responsibilities, and communication during a simulation of a complex case and complicated discharge plan.

The seven participating faculty members from several health science programs were nominated for their steady progress developing and expanding UM-Flint-based multiprofessional collaboration for excellence in discharge planning. The number of students who have benefitted has surpassed 2000, explained one nominator, adding: “Together the team is engaged in at least 8 different IPE experiences each year. Members of this team have 9 publications, 11 peer-reviewed presentations, and have received 11 grants together to continue their IPE work.”

The awardees are Leslie Smith, Carman Turkelson, Megan Keiser, Stephanie Gilkey, Sheryl Groden, Nicholas Prush, Laura Macias-Brown, and Elizabeth Yost.

“It is with great appreciation that we honor these outstanding team efforts,” said Center for IPE Director Raj Mangrulkar. “On behalf of the whole IPE community, I thank you for your leadership and tireless efforts.”

2022 Award finalist recognition goes to the Center for Occupational Health and Safety Engineering (COHSE). The recognized faculty are: Stuart Batterman, Marjorie McCullagh, Richard Neitzel, and Marie O’Neill.