Congratulations to the Recipients of Awards for IPE Innovation and Excellence

The U-M Center for IPE presented its inaugural 2019 awards to outstanding U-M faculty and students.

The fifth-annual Health Professions Education Day at the University of Michigan wrapped up with a ceremony honoring recipients of the first-ever Awards for IPE Innovation and Excellence–“the champions of the interprofessional education and practice (IPE) movement at U-M.” The 2019 awardees include:

Faculty Award: Gundy Sweet, Clinical Professor of Pharmacy

Dr. Sweet was honored for her leadership and dedication in starting and sustaining many U-M IPE efforts:

  • She grew the Team-Based Clinical Decision Making course into “the crown jewel of IPE on campus.” From its humble start five years ago, she restructured the class for 530+ students and launched this year’s first-ever large-scale Team Up event, leading a team of 10 faculty from 5 different schools.
  • She was awarded a 2019 IP-X grant for “Advancing IPE Efforts Using Data Visualization.”
  • Working behind the scenes, she has been active on the IPE Executive Committee since its beginning and is co-chair of the IPE Curriculum Committee, implementing a structure to formalize the IPE course approval process. She also chairs the IPE assessment work group. 
  • A nominator said: “She has dogged determination, exhibits disarming candor, yet highlights the key issues we must all be working on to maximize success.”

The faculty of the Foundations in IPE program were runners-up for the faculty award. They are led by Laura Smith of UM-Flint College of Health Sciences and Melissa Gross of the School of Kinesiology.

Student Award: Stuart Hammond and Sally Salari

Sally and Stuart_sm3291Stuart and Sally are the co-founders and inaugural co-chairs of newly formed Student Advisory Committee (SAC), which integrated student voices into IPE committees. They made a strategic plan for SAC’s future and helped bring on new co-chairs, after engaging student student leaders across the campuses and schools at an IPE retreat. Student feedback was overwhelmingly positive, calling the retreat “an absolute delight” despite it taking up a full Saturday morning. In addition:

  • They are always willing to help–for example, they were integral to first-ever IPE in Action at Crisler Arena:
    • Stuart was onsite helping coordinate student leaders and even jumping in to help with setting up tables.
    • Sally tweeted about IPE all week on the main Michigan Students account (with 24,000 followers), even though she couldn’t be in town day of event.
  • Despite separate disciplines (dual Public Health/Policy for Stuart, Medicine for Sally), they have both been passionate about IPE for much of their academic careers.
  • Nominators said:
    • “Sally and Stuart are brilliant inaugural nominees for the student award. As student pioneers, they have exhibited steady and inspirational leadership for all other students to emulate as this initiative goes forward.”
    • “Their efforts brought one of the most important partners in the IPE effort, our students, to the team.”

 Award for Distinguished Leadership in IPE: Carol Anne Murdoch-Kinch

Dr. Murdoch-Kinch was honored for her service, before she goes forth this summer to be the first female dean at the Indiana University School of Dentistry, where she received her PhD. (More information and photos about her work with interprofessional education at U-M.) We will miss her enthusiasm and leadership but look forward to continuing to work together through the Big 10 IPE Academic Alliance.

Said a fellow Executive Committee member: “Carol Ann was probably the most passionate and eloquent U-M supporter of IPE in the early days. She had a great vision of what IPE could look like at Michigan and in practice settings. That passion is going to be hard to replace!”

Pictured at top, left to right: Frank Ascione of the Center for IPE, Stuart Hammond, Gundy Sweet, Carol Anne Murdoch-Kinch, and Caren Stalburg, chair of the Center for IPE faculty development committee, which oversaw the awards.